Hills Barbeque Run, Sunday 21st December 2008

Organised by Brian & Maureen Kuerschner

This was my first Hills Barbeque Run, simply because so many other things seem to get into the way at this time of year. I decided Scones with Jam & Cream followed by a nice cup of Coffee was too good to miss. Arriving early only just after 9:00am I was pleased to find around 20 Motorcycles present & as per usual everybody busy talking about everything & nothing. Soon the food was served & we all hopped in. In no time at all it was time to have a few words from Brian & we were off on our run. We headed west from Summertown & turned right onto Tregarthen Rd & did a bit of a circle back to Greenhill Rd, across to the Mt. Lofty parking area for our first re-group. Off again through Crafers & down Upper Sturt Rd. where we encountered Rob Smyth & Daryl Rosser riding in the opposite direction. They soon joined us and we continued on our merry way. A sharp left onto Pole Rd. & we were on our way through the winding picturesque hills again. Next was Ironbank Rd & on to Sturt Valley Rd. & a steep Right turn onto Longwood Rd. A left onto Lesley Creek Rd., to Mylor. We took a left out of Mylor onto Stock Rd. & then onto Aldgate Valley Rd. which I do not think I have ridden before. This is a lovely piece of road and took us into Aldgate for our next re-group. I had previously offered to count the Motorcycles & to my disbelief I counted 65 Machines. Yes I did say 65 Motorcycles & Roger O’Loughlin counted the same. There were a couple of Modern ‘Bikes I did not include & I was told later one of these was a visitor from Tasmania, who had joined us for the day. Back towards Crafers, turned off & picked up the Old Mt. Barker Rd. through Bridgewater, down Germantown Hill to Verdun. left at Verdun & on to Tanahmerah Rd., Gum Flat Rd., Carey Gully Rd., past Mt George, teeing into Greenhill rd. through Uraidla to the finish, back at Kuerschners for a Barbeque lunch.


Lunch was served, (2 Sausages, 3 Salads, Bread & condiments with a slice of Watermelon) by Leslie Jones, Audrey Govan, Jean Holmes & others whose names I do not know. After lunch many left before Ron Truscott on our behalf thanked Brian & Maureen for their efforts. Brian responded by telling us they had done this for 11 years & this may be the last. It would be a great loss to the Club as this is by far the best attended monthly ride the Club has. Roll on 2009 & we will see if we can talk them into doing it for “just another year”. Thanks also to Laurie Leibhardt & his driver for the back-up vehicle. A big vote of thanks to the Marshals who did a great job of looking after some 65 riders for the run.

Malcolm Gray

Those attending:

Bob Gill 1913 Veteran BSA
Bob Hill 1924 Henderson O/Fit
Chris Harley 1925 Moto Guzzi
David Cant 1928 Indian
Jeff Schaefer 1929 BSA O/Fit
Rob Smyth 1929 AJS
Arnold De Groot 1930 Norton
Rob Elliott 1924 Indian Scout
Bob Mather 1932 Scott
Brenton Halstead 1935 Panther
Natalie Halstead 1936 BSA
Peter Yates 1935 Velocette
David Radloff 1939 Panther
Chris Warner 1936 BSA F.T.O
Gary Nelson 1938 AJS
Bruce Cameron 1939 Ariel
Bob Kretschmer 1941 BSA
Jim Mottillo 1942 BSA
Peter Wheeler 1942 Harley Davidson
Merv Dunstall 1942 Harley O/Fit F.T.O
Tony Morisset 1945 Norton F.T.O
Ken Olsson 1948 Matchless
Kevin Mead 1948 Velocette
Gary Jolly 1948 Ariel
Bruce Lehmann 1948 Ariel
Paul Walhstedt 1948 Matchless F.T.O
Hamish Cooper 1948 Triumph
Dean Govan 1948 Velocette
Michael Scarpantoni 1949 BSA
John Deacon 1949 Norton
Colin Pauley 1949 Ariel O/F
Ron Truscott 1950 Norton
Ian Baldock 1950 Ariel
Geoff Thompson 1950 Jawa
Paul Knapp 1951 AJS
John Byles 1954 Ariel
Brian Kuerschner 1954 AJS
Ted Williams 1955 Triumph
John Keay 1956 Matchless
Barry Carlisle 1956 Norton O/Fit
Don Tonkin 1957 Triumph
David Holbrook 1958 Ariel
Ian Tonkin 1958 Velocette
Denis Smyth 1958 Triumph
Daryl Rosser 1963 BSA

Russell Sadoroshny 1966 Matchless
John Booker 1966 Triumph
Keith Milich 1970 Velocette
Malcolm Gray 1971 BMW
Peter Langdon 1973 Triumph
Peter Arriola 1974 Honda
Greg Cameron 1974 Moto Guzzi
Ron Roy 1975 Honda
Ian Carlsson 1976 Kawasaki
Don Cellier 1980 Honda
Roger O’Loughlin 1989 Suzuki
Bob Frankham 1994 Yamaha

Annette Albtecht 2005 Honda
Paul Douglas 1951 Vincent

Laurie Leibhardt & Philip Holmes
Richard Kretschmer.
** Plus numerous in Maureen’s kitchen.


  • No Events

Proudly Supported By

Paradise Motors