Dan Moriarty’s Eastern Run, 16th September 2007

Thanks to Dan for organising a terrific ride – but I don’t know who to blame for the weather!

It’s drought in South Australia, so I guess we shouldn’t complain about rain. But let’s face it, driving winds and heavy rain are not exactly ideal vintage motorcycling conditions. By the time we got to Nairne and played the “how many bikes under the forecourt roof” game, it was decided to call off the rest of the run and make our way home as best we could.

It was a cold and wet ride home. Maybe another day Dan?

Those who braved the elements on club eligible bikes were:

Bob Kretschmer    1941    Army BSA     Solo
Paul Knapp    1951    AJS Springtwin    Solo
Rob Smyth    1929    Cammy AJS    Solo
Denis Smyth    1958    Triumph    Solo
Ed Sanders    1939    Norton    Solo
Arnold De Groot    1930    Norton    Solo
Chris Harley    1912    JAP    Solo
Richard Kretschmer    1956    Norton    O/Fit
Mal Mackay    1930    BSA Sloper    Solo
Dan Moriarty    1956    Ariel    Solo
Colin Pauley    1949     Ariel Sq4     O/Fit
Daryl Rosser    1963    BSA Goldie    Solo
Terry Rowe    1914    Bullock Precision     Solo
Don Tonkin    1957    Triumph    Solo
Ian Tonkin    1958    Velocette    Solo
Bob Gill    1927    BSA    Solo First time out
Neil Hamilton    1951    Norton    O/Fit
Dave Holbrook    1958    Ariel    Solo
Jeff Jones    1958    BSA    Solo
Bruce Lehmann    1948    Ariel    Solo
Russell Sadoroshney    1957    Triumph     Solo
Chris Warner    1952    BSA    Solo
Laurie Leibhardt drove the back up trailer – thanks Laurie!

Also joining the run were Ian Baldock, Bob Frankham, Peter Langdon, Malcolm Gray, Denis Saunders, Geoff  Thompson, Brenton Halstead, Alan Martin, Roger O’Loughlin    plus several members in their cars.


  • No Events

Proudly Supported By

Paradise Motors